Introduction – Ten Random Facts About Me

1. I’m currently in the process of changing my major. I started going to Santa Fe in the Fall of 2012 with my major then being Engineering. I earned my AA in the spring of 2015 and transferred to UF with my declared major being Computer Engineering. After taking Summer B, and subsequently Fall classes there, I found that I really didn’t enjoy my major, so here I am back and Santa Fe just trying to find some classes around things that I have always truly loved. I’m hoping that writing might be a better fit.

2. I was born in Memphis, Tennessee, and I lived just West of Memphis across the Mississippi river in a town called, surprise, West Memphis, Arkansas. I lived there until I was 5 years old and then my family moved to Gainesville; however, my dad still owns my deceased grandparents’ house there. I have other family, on my dad’s side, in Tennessee.

3. I’ve lived in Gainesville, FL since 1999, and I have gone through all of my schooling here before moving on to Santa Fe.

4. In the Summer of 2013, through Santa Fe World Travelers, I went on a trip to China for two weeks where we saw many places of historical significance such as the Great Wall, the Terracotta Army, and the Forbidden City. After this trip, I took a semester of Mandarin language because my time in China increased my interest in its culture.

5. I work at Jimmy Johns, a sandwich shop, as a delivery driver and have done so since the spring of last year.

6. I own a two-handed sword and kilt that I bought at the local medieval fair a few years ago. Sometimes I’ll shamelessly put on this outfit, watch the movie Braveheart, and yell a battle cry at all of the appropriate times.

7. I like world building, such as drawing fantasy maps and creating cultures, and I also like reading fantasy lore that other authors have created.

8. My favorite video game is Kerbal Space program. I like it because of how realistic the challenges of creating a working rocket are, and the great feeling of accomplishment you obtain for overcoming these challenges.

9. I enjoy singing, and I consider myself a decent singer. Mostly I like to sing jazz, but I’ve also sung with the Santa Fe Singers group here at the school.

10. I like to sketch from time to time when the desire to takes me. I’d like to sketch more often though to improve my skill in this area.

430

2 thoughts on “Introduction – Ten Random Facts About Me

  1. I’ve performed at the medieval faire and this year I’m volunteering again. If you go, you should definitely wear your kilt and if you bring the sword, be sure to peace-tie it. I love all kinds of art, but drawing is one I’m no good at. I definitely need more practice with it.

    Like

  2. I have a friend at UF who’s major is computer engineering. He literally has no free time to hang out so i can only imagine what the work load is like! Learning a new language is also something that I have been fascinated with for a while now. Just need to find the time to start!

    Like

Leave a Reply

